FourPlay String Quartet - Bound

FourPlay String Quartet
Label: Smart Pussy Records ‎– none
Type: File, MP3, Single
Country: Australia
Date of released: 29 Apr 2018
Category: Electronic, Pop, Classical
Style: Vocal

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Bound 4:17
2 Evolve Or Decay (Monk Fly remix)
Remix – Monk Fly
3 The Hunter (The Quickening - Comatone remix)
Remix – Comatone
4 Trust (one wrong 2-step remix)
Remix – Raven

Companies, etc.

  • Engineered At – Sony Music Studios, Sydney
  • Mixed At – Hydrofunk HQ


  • Cello, Backing Vocals – Peter Hollo
  • Engineer, Mixed By – Justin Tresidder (tracks: 1)
  • Producer – Fourplay (tracks: 1), Justin Tresidder (tracks: 1)
  • Viola – Shenzo Gregorio
  • Viola, Backing Vocals – Tim Hollo
  • Violin, Vocals – Lara Goodridge


Bandcamp release, available in MP3, FLAC, ALAC, AAC, Ogg Vorbis, WAV and AIFF.

FourPlay’s single Bound is a striking track with the lot: a dirty riff, urgent and soaring vocals, a deeply melodic chorus, and a crazed viola solo to push everything over the edge.
Originally inspired by Jack White and Beyoncé, Bound was written out of a jam while the band was a guest of the Bundanon Trust’s Artist-In-Residency program in the Southern Highlands of NSW. Vocals were later added by band member Lara Goodridge with lyrics about staring life’s challenges down while taking responsibility for who we are, and who we love. Big and bold, Bound reminds us that our decisions have repercussions, and that ultimately we’re all bound together.

Produced by Justin Tresidder and FourPlay at Sony Music Studios, Sydney and mixed at Hydrofunk HQ, Mullumbimby, Bound has an immediately distinctive FourPlay feel while simultaneously charting exhilarating new territory.

As a bonus for fans of FourPlay’s electronic side, Bound includes three archival remixes from the band’s Now To The Future album, unreleased to this day: Evolve or Decay (Monk Fly remix) by Chris Hancock (from 2011), The Hunter (The Quickening - Comatone remix) by Greg Seiler (from 2008), and Trust (one wrong 2-step remix) by raven: a remix made by FourPlay's Peter Hollo, originally way back in 2005, reworked substantially in 2014, and again in 2018, unreleased until now! This is a remix of a recording made with Daniel Denholm, which was ultimately not used. A different version (in a different key!) can be found on the 2016 album FourPlay String Quartet* - Now To The Future.